City Council

The City Charter of Kerrville provides for a Council-Manager for of local government. The Mayor and Councilmembers function as the policy-making body of the city, determining the overall goals, objectives and direction for city services and adopting the annual operating budgets for all City Departments.
 Regular Meetings:
Second and Fourth Tuesday of the Month
6:00 p.m.
City Council Meetings are broadcast live on Time Warner Cable channel 2 during the regularly scheduled meeting. Rebroadcasts of each meeting are the Thursday following a meeting at 7:00 am and the Tuesday following a meeting at 9:00 pm.

City Council Details


“Section 2.02. Qualifications for Councilmembers

Each member of the City Council, in addition to having other qualifications required by law:

a. Shall be a qualified voter of the State of Texas;
b. Shall be at least eighteen (18) years of age;
c. Shall be a resident of the City for at least twelve (12) consecutive months preceding the election; provided, however, that any person who shall have been a resident for a period of not less than twelve (12) consecutive months immediately preceding the election of any territory not formerly within the corporate limits of the City, but which is annexed under the provision of this charter, shall be eligible for said office;
d. Shall not hold any other elected office or employment under the city government while a member of the Council, except a member of the City Council may be appointed by the City Council to represent the Council on any board, commission, committee, organization or entity in the Council’s sole discretion so long as that person’s service does not extend beyond the person’s term of office.
e. At the time that a candidate’s application for a place on the ballot is submitted, or thereafter, such candidate shall not be related within the second degree of affinity or third degree of consanguinity to anyone employed by the City and who holds an executive position with the City, which is defined as the head of any department or division within the City. The City Manager shall indicate such positions within his or her budget.
(See Charter)

Powers and Duties:

All powers of the city shall be vested in a council of 5 members

Term of Office:

Two years



Number of Members:

One mayor and four councilmembers

Meeting Time & Place:

Second and Fourth Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m.; Council Chambers, 701 Main Street

Established By:

City Charter: Article II, Section 2.01 through 2.05, Section 3.04 (Ord 2008-17); Code of Ordinances: Chapter 2 - Article II - Section 2-31


 January 14, 2020