Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
On May 19, 2014, the Kerrville Police Department will join the Texas Department of Public Safety and hundreds of other law enforcement agencies across Texas to save lives on Texas roads and highways, day and night, by intensifying efforts to enforce the state's seat belt and child seat laws. The Texas Department of Transportation 13th annual “Click It or Ticket” campaign runs May 19 – June 1, 2014.
Here’s the law in Texas: Everyone in the vehicle must be secured by a seat belt. It doesn’t matter if you’re the driver or a passenger in the front or back seat, if you’re not buckled up, you can get a ticket. Officers will also ticket drivers whose young passengers are not properly buckled up. Children younger than 8 years old must be in a child safety seat or booster seat unless they are taller than 4 feet, 9 inches tall. Fines and court costs are up to $200, and the greatest cost of all – serious injury or death.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, regardless of the vehicle, seat belts save lives. — In 2013, NHTSA reported half of pickup truck drivers who died in traffic crashes were not wearing a seat belt.
NHTSA statistics also show that of those killed in Texas who weren’t buckled up, 62 percent were between the ages of 18 to 34, the highest percentage of any age group.
“Our goal is to save more lives, so buckle up each and every time you go out. Don’t risk your life or the life of your passengers.” said Traffic Sergeant Martin Morris.
Learn more about the Click It or Ticket mobilization at www.nhtsa.gov/ciot